Our Team

McAllen Convention Center  Phone Number: (956) 681-3800  Fax Number: (956) 681-3840

Convention Center Staff
Name Position Phone Email
Omar Rodriguez Director (956) 681-3888 orodriguez@mcallen.net
Al Diaz Manager of Operations (956) 681-3828 adiaz@mcallen.net
Ben Morales Operations Supervisor (956) 681-3816 bmorales@mcallen.net
Darrell Cardona  Special Events Coordinator (956) 681-3804  dcardona@mcallen.net
Ernesto Rocha Operations Specialist (956) 681-3897 erocha@mcallen.net
Hugo Perales A/V Technician (956) 681-3837  hgperales@mcallen.net
Jessica Gonzalez Event Coordinator (956) 681-3806 jessica.gonzalez@mcallen.net
Karen Elizarraras Event Services Supervisor (956) 681-3811 kelizarraras@mcallen.net
Karla Puente Sales Coordinator (956)681-3892 kpuente@mcallen.net
Laurie Pulido Manager of Sales & Event Services (956) 681-3894 lapulido@mcallen.net
Linda Gonzalez Administrative Clerk (956)681-3883 lgonzalez@mcallen.net
Lisbeth Fernandez Administrative Supervisor (956) 681-3896 lfernandez@mcallen.net
Manuel Elizarraras Electrician (956) 681-3817 melizarraras@mcallen.net
Monica Raygada Event Coordinator (956) 681-3898 mraygada@mcallen.net
Ricardo Chavez Building Monitor Supervisor (956) 681-3830 rchavez@mcallen.net
Robert Rockhill A/V Technician (956) 681-3815 rrockhill@mcallen.net
Sabrina Fisher Administrative Clerk (956) 681-3836 sfisher@mcallen.net
Svetlana Gonzalez Accounting Supervisor (956) 681-3871 svetlana.gonzalez@mcallen.net
Veronica Martinez Event Coordinator (956) 681-3880  vmartinez@mcallen.net

Catering Centerplate Contacts
Name Position Phone Email
Maria Murillo General Manager Food & Beverage, Centerplate (956) 681-3862 maria.murillo@centerplate.com
Marcie Kazen Director of Catering Sales, Centerplate (956) 681-3863 marcie.kazen@centerplate.com
Ruben Flores Executive Chef, Centerplate (956) 681-3866 ruben.flores@centerplate.com
Eva Paschal Director of Operations (956) 681-3865 eva.paschal@centerplate.com
Cristina Martinez Catering Sales Manager, Centerplate (956)681-3863 cristina.martinez@centerplate.com
Maricella Garcia Senior Banquet Manager, Centerplate

The Exhibit Hall is comprised of 60,818 square feet of column-free, continuous exhibit space. The space may be arranged as a single entity, or be acoustically subdivided into two separate rooms. Each hall has its own entrance to allow self-contained movement.

The ceiling height is 30 feet with surfaces comprised of polished concrete and metal. Some areas of the hall have perforated steel acoustic surfacing which provides a modest amount of acoustic treatment.

Utility floor parts are located on 30 foot by 30 foot centers with telephone, electric, and internet connections. Water and wastewater drains are located on 30 foot x 60 foot centers.

The exhibit hall was designed to host a variety of events such as conventions, trade shows, concerts, basketball and other sporting events.

Setup Options

General Session
When exhibit halls are utilized as General Session the rate includes theater seating (with vinyl, or teal colored chairs), stage risers, podium/lectern, head table, and house sound (technician is charged at hourly rate). Additional equipment and services available at listed rates.
Social Events (Banquets)
When exhibit halls are utilized for Banquet or Social event purposes the rate includes vinyl, or teal colored chairs, oval tables, stage risers, podium/lectern, head table, and house sound (technician is charged at hourly rate). Additional equipment & services available at listed rates.
Banquet Setup Hall A
Exhibit Hall A with Dance Floor
Banquet Setup Hall B
Exhibit Hall B with Dance Floor
Exhibit Area
When exhibit halls are utilized as an exhibit area the rate includes two (2) chairs per booth, show manager office, public address system and marshalling area. Additional equipment available at listed rates. The following sets are available (capacity may vary with the specific Set Up needs of each program):

  • Exhibit Hall A: Capacity – 159 – 10 X 10 Standard Booths
  • Exhibit Hall B: Capacity – 195 – 10 X 10 Standard Booths
Concert Hall
When exhibit halls are utilized as a concert hall the rate includes chairs, stage, parade barricades and green room. Additional equipment available at listed rates. The following sets are available for EXHIBIT HALL A&B (capacity may vary with the specific Set Up needs of each program):

  • OPTION A: – 3,328 Total Seats VIP Area, 40 X 60 Stage
  • OPTION B: – 3,496 Total Seats, 40 X 60 Stage
  • OPTION C: (COMEDY) – 4,038 Total Seats, 30 X 24 Stage
Basketball
When exhibit halls are utilized as a basketball venue the rate includes chairs, risers, and parade barricades, score tables, scoreboards, floor, and goals. Additional equipment & services available at listed rates. The following sets are available:

  • OPTION A: Capacity – 2,805 Total Seats
  • OPTION B: Capacity – 2,528 Total Seats

Technical Specifications

Weight Capacity
13 tons per square foot
Clearances
30 ft to bottom of the beam 40 ft to high beam
Truck Access
The loading dock is located on the north east side of the building and features 8 bays with 3 drive-in access points to the exhibit hall, including 30 ft high elephant doors
Electrical
  • 60,100,200,400 AMPS (3 PHASE)
  • Shore power 100 (3 PHASE)
  • A/C CABLE: 150 FT 4/O, 150 FT 2/O
Rigging Points
Rigging points every 30 ft (total 45 points throughout hall) 2,000 lbs from low beam (certified per point)
Dressing Rooms & Show Manager Offices
1 Green Room 2 show manager offices overlooking Hall
Convention Center Room Map

Meeting Matrix

Capacity
Exhibit Hall A [28,062 ft2]
Theater 2,704
Concert 2,000
Banquet 1,000
Trade Show 129 Booths
Exhibit Hall B [33,420 ft2]
Theater 2,800
Concert 2,600
Banquet 1,248
Trade Show 156 Booths
Exhibit Hall A + B [61,482 ft2]
Theater 5,600
Concert (Reserved/GA) 5,000
Banquet 2,000
Trade Show 273 Booths

Rates & Fees

Room space for the Exhibit Hall is calculated based on $0.14 per gross square foot per day.

Exhibit Hall Rental Rates
Room Class I Class II Class III 90 Day 60 Day 30 Day / Half-Day / Move-in
For more information on Rate Classes, view our Rates & Fees
 Exhibit Hall A $3,780.00 $3,024.00 $2,835.00 $2,646.00 $2,268.00 $1,890.00
 Exhibit Hall B $4,535.00 $3,628.80 $3,402.00 $3,175.20 $2,721.60 $2,268.00
 Exhibit Hall A+B $8,316.00 $6,652.80 $6,237.00 $5,821.20 $4,989.60 $4,158.00

Why Pay More?

The following amenities are included with every room rental:

  • Tables
  • Chairs
  • Staging
  • Courtesy Phone
  • FREE Wi-Fi
  • Event Service Support
  • Security for daytime events
  • Drop-down screen / projector *
  • FREE Parking
  • Digital posting of meeting agenda
* Drop down screen and projector not available in Ballroom or Exhibit Hall.

The Exhibit Hall is comprised of 60,818 square feet of column-free, continuous exhibit space. The space may be arranged as a single entity, or be acoustically subdivided into two separate rooms. Each hall has its own entrance to allow self-contained movement.

The ceiling height is 30 feet with surfaces comprised of polished concrete and metal. Some areas of the hall have perforated steel acoustic surfacing which provides a modest amount of acoustic treatment.

Utility floor parts are located on 30 foot by 30 foot centers with telephone, electric, and internet connections. Water and wastewater drains are located on 30 foot x 60 foot centers.

The exhibit hall was designed to host a variety of events such as conventions, trade shows, concerts, basketball and other sporting events.


Convention Center Room Map

Meeting Matrix

Capacity
Exhibit Hall A [28,062 ft2]
Theater 2,704
Concert 2,000
Banquet 1,000
Trade Show 129 Booths
Exhibit Hall B [33,420 ft2]
Theater 2,800
Concert 2,600
Banquet 1,248
Trade Show 156 Booths
Exhibit Hall A + B [61,482 ft2]
Theater 5,600
Concert (Reserved/GA) 5,000
Banquet 2,000
Trade Show 273 Booths

Setup Options

General Session
When exhibit halls are utilized as General Session the rate includes theater seating (with vinyl, or teal colored chairs), stage risers, podium/lectern, head table, and house sound (technician is charged at hourly rate). Additional equipment and services available at listed rates.
Social Events (Banquets)
When exhibit halls are utilized for Banquet or Social event purposes the rate includes vinyl, or teal colored chairs, oval tables, stage risers, podium/lectern, head table, and house sound (technician is charged at hourly rate). Additional equipment & services available at listed rates.
Banquet Setup Hall A
Exhibit Hall A with Dance Floor
Banquet Setup Hall B
Exhibit Hall B with Dance Floor
Exhibit Area
When exhibit halls are utilized as an exhibit area the rate includes two (2) chairs per booth, show manager office, public address system and marshalling area. Additional equipment available at listed rates. The following sets are available (capacity may vary with the specific Set Up needs of each program):

  • Exhibit Hall A: Capacity – 159 – 10 X 10 Standard Booths
  • Exhibit Hall B: Capacity – 195 – 10 X 10 Standard Booths
Concert Hall
When exhibit halls are utilized as a concert hall the rate includes chairs, stage, parade barricades and green room. Additional equipment available at listed rates. The following sets are available for EXHIBIT HALL A&B (capacity may vary with the specific Set Up needs of each program):

  • OPTION A: – 3,328 Total Seats VIP Area, 40 X 60 Stage
  • OPTION B: – 3,496 Total Seats, 40 X 60 Stage
  • OPTION C: (COMEDY) – 4,038 Total Seats, 30 X 24 Stage
Basketball
When exhibit halls are utilized as a basketball venue the rate includes chairs, risers, and parade barricades, score tables, scoreboards, floor, and goals. Additional equipment & services available at listed rates. The following sets are available:

  • OPTION A: Capacity – 2,805 Total Seats
  • OPTION B: Capacity – 2,528 Total Seats

Technical Specification

Weight Capacity
13 tons per square foot
Clearances
30 ft to bottom of the beam 40 ft to high beam
Truck Access
The loading dock is located on the north east side of the building and features 8 bays with 3 drive-in access points to the exhibit hall, including 30 ft high elephant doors
Electrical
  • 60,100,200,400 AMPS (3 PHASE)
  • Shore power 100 (3 PHASE)
  • A/C CABLE: 150 FT 4/O, 150 FT 2/O
Rigging Points
Rigging points every 30 ft (total 45 points throughout hall) 2,000 lbs from low beam (certified per point)
Dressing Rooms & Show Manager Offices
1 Green Room 2 show manager offices overlooking Hall

Rates & Fees

Room space for the Exhibit Hall is calculated based on $0.14 per gross square foot per day.

Exhibit Hall Rental Rates
Room Class I Class II Class III 90 Day 60 Day 30 Day
Half-Day
Move-in
For more information on Rate Classes, view our Rates & Fees
 Exhibit Hall A $3,780.00 $3,024.00 $2,835.00 $2,646.00 $2,268.00 $1,890.00
 Exhibit Hall B $4,535.00 $3,628.80 $3,402.00 $3,175.20 $2,721.60 $2,268.00
 Exhibit Hall A+B $8,316.00 $6,652.80 $6,237.00 $5,821.20 $4,989.60 $4,158.00

Why Pay More?

The following amenities are included with every room rental:

  • Tables
  • Chairs
  • Staging
  • Courtesy Phone
  • FREE Wi-Fi
  • Event Service Support
  • Security for daytime events
  • Drop-down screen / projector *
  • FREE Parking
  • Digital posting of meeting agenda
* Drop down screen and projector not available in Ballroom or Exhibit Hall.

Photo Gallery

Twitter

@McAConventions

PAW Patrol Live! coming to the McAllen Performing Arts Center on Oct. 20 - 22! 🐶 🎫Tickets available at the... https://t.co/CECR9bu2eF

@McAConventions

Save the date! This Sunday, October 22 the Wedding Fair 2017 will be happening at the McAllen Convention Center... https://t.co/cAZ5sINDq2

Newsletter

Stay up to date on all events happening at the McAllen Convention Center. Sign up for our e-newsletter.